Department of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology

George Mason University

Skip to Navigation


Faculty


Ancha Baranova, Associate Professor.
Moscow State Univ., Russia
Systems biology, Functional genomics of chronic human diseases involving cancer, diabetes, obesity, liver disorders, Computational biology, Pathway analysis.
703-993-4293, abaranov@gmu.edu

Alan Christensen, Associate Professor.
Michigan State Univ.
Molecular biology, functional genomics of eukaryotic cells, biotechnology, liver diseases.
703-993-2131, achriste@gmu.edu

Daniel Cox, Associate Professor.
Duke Univ.
Graduate Program Director.
Developmental neurogenetics with a specific emphasis on the molecular mechanisms regulating dendrite development and behavior.
703-993-4971, dcox5@gmu.edu

Karl Fryxell, Associate Professor.
Calif. Institute of Technology, Pasadena
Molecular evolution, computational biology and genetic pathways, functional genomics of the nervous system including brain cancer and stroke.
703-993-1069, kfryxell@gmu.edu

Geraldine Grant, Assocate Professor.
Dublin City Univ., Ireland
Functional genomics of fibrosis in lung, liver and heart, liver diseases, arthritis and cartilage cell differentiation, in vitro toxicology.
703-993-4292, ggrant1@gmu.edu

Ramin M. Hakami, Assistant Professor.
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge
National Center for Biodefense and Infectious Diseases
703-993-7084, rhakami@gmu.edu

Saleet Jafri, Professor.
Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences, City University of New York/Mount Sinai School of Medicine, 1993.
Cellular Signaling, Cardiac Physiology, High-Performance Computing and Modeling.
703-993-8420, sjafri@gmu.edu

Fatah Kashanchi, Associate Professor.
University of Kansas
National Center for Biodefense and Infectious Diseases
703-993-9160, fkashanc@gmu.edu

Kylene Kehn-Hall, Assistant Professor.
The George Washington University
Discovering critical proteomic and miRNA changes during viral (hemorrhagic fever viruses and HIV-1) infection to facilitate targeted therapeutic approaches.
703-993-8869, kkehnhal@gmu.edu

Jason Kinser, Associate Professor.
D.Sc. Optics and Electrooptical Systems, Southeastern Institute of Technology, 1994.
Image Processing, Data Mining.
703-993-3785, jkinser@gmu.edu

Dmitri Klimov, Associate Professor.
Ph.D., Moscow State University, 1992.
Computer simulations of protein aggregation and amyloid formation.
703-993-8395, dklimov@gmu.edu

Lance Liotta, Professor.
Case Western Reserve Univ.
Cancer research to include the process of tumor invasion and metastasis at the molecular level, technologies used to make broad discoveries in genomics, functional genetics and tissue proteomics.
703-993-9444, lliotta@gmu.edu

Alessandra Luchini, Assistant Professor.
Univ of Padova, Italy
Proteomics and the development of hydrogel nanoparticles used to identify biomarkers for cancer and other diseases.
703-993-8946, aluchini@gmu.edu

Emanuel Petricoin III, Professor.
Univ. of Maryland, College Park
Implementation of proteomics, nanotechnology, and genomics research in cancer, metabolic syndrome, cardiopulmonary diseases, and neurodegenerative and liver diseases.
703-9938646, epetrico@gmu.edu

Serguei Popov, Professor.
Novosibirsk State Univ., Russia
Mechanisms of microbial pathogenicity; microbe-host interaction during infection.
703-993-4713 spopov@gmu.edu

Don Seto, Professor.
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University, 1987.
Comparative Genomics, Viruses, Bioinformatics Tools for Genome Data Mining, Molecular Diagnostics and Applications.
703-993-8403, dseto@gmu.edu

Jeffrey Solka, Adjunct Assistant Professor.
Ph.D. Computational Science and Informatics, George Mason University, 1995.
Computational Statistics, Data Mining.
jsolka@gmu.edu

Valery N. Soyfer, Distinguished Univ Professor.
Kurchatov Institute of Atomic Energy, Russia
Moecular genetics, molecular mechanisms of mutation, structural conformations of DNA and chromatin.
703-993-2180, vnsoyfer@gmu.edu

Iosif Vaisman, Professor.
Ph.D. Physical Chemistry, USSR Academy of Science, 1990.
Protein Structure Analysis, Computational Geometry.
703-993-8431, ivaisman@gmu.edu

Monique van Hoek, Assistant Professor.
Univ. of Virginia
Virulence factors of Francisella tularensis (tularemia), protein phosphorylation pathways in host cells following Francisella infection.
703-993-4273, mvanhoek@gmu.edu

James Willett, Professor.
Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, MIT, 1965.
Metabolic Systems Analysis, BioDefense.
703-993-8311, jwillett@gmu.edu

Yuntao Wu, Associate Professor.
Queen's University, Canada
HIV-1 infection of CD4 T-cells and macrophages, lentiviral vector development for targeting HIV infection, immunology.
703-993-4299, ywu8@gmu.edu

Associated Mason Faculty